Ai | Irish Poetic Inspiration


aliisaacstoryteller

A well known Irish verse A well known Irish verse

When I write my humble little word-strings,all I think of is the message I wish to convey, the words which I use as vehicles, and how it sounds/ looks to me.I can get away with that, because this is the modern age, the digital age, and I have the power to be anything I want to be. There really isn’t a right or wrong.

But that’s not how it used to be.

In the old days, the Irish poet could only compose a poem in the dark whilst lying down. He/ she had to train for a very long time, and I’m talking decades here. Each poem must consist of quatrains (4 line verses) called rann, divided into two parts called leathrann. Whatever sound, syllable or line a poem began with, it must end with the same. This is called dúnadh (closing).

These are…

View original post 355 more words

About Working Holiday Ireland

The Working Holiday Ireland website dedicated for those who are planning to visit the magical emerald isle. A place to meet like minded travellers, find out what's happening, get some really great travel info, or just catch up on adventures in Ireland. Come on in and enjoy the Craic!!!

Posted on 2 Aug, 2014, in What's happening in Ireland. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thanks for re-blogging me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

