Wandering and Wondering in The Emerald Isle–The Preamble


From the Red Chair

I sojourned in Ireland for a month during the summer of 2012; I wandered from Dublin and the West Coast across to Malinbeg in Donegal, and then all the way down the West Coast, landing in West Cork. From Cork I meandered to Kilkenny and then back to Dublin. I had yearned to visit Ireland for–wait for it–57 years. I kid you not: from the time I was eight years old I read Anyone, Anything, and Anywhere Irish. I studied Irish history, myth, literature, and their Diaspora. I love Irish cinema and I’ve already spoken of my love of Irish music. 

My (mostly) German Old Man called it my Great Affectation, my love for All Things Irish. How perversely delighted was I to find out in later life that our paternal Grandmother was the beneficiary of a significant Irish heritage! Not a huge heritage, for sure, but combined with our maternal…

View original post 319 more words

About Working Holiday Ireland

The Working Holiday Ireland website dedicated for those who are planning to visit the magical emerald isle. A place to meet like minded travellers, find out what's happening, get some really great travel info, or just catch up on adventures in Ireland. Come on in and enjoy the Craic!!!

Posted on 13 Jan, 2014, in What's happening in Ireland. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

